Board Meeting Minutes 2017 05

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Elkhart Public Library was held May 16, 2017, at the Main Library and called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Janice E. Dean, President.




Members present:  Renee’ Cocanower, Mary E. Davis, Janice E. Dean, Carlos Esteves, and Jennifer Nielsen.  Brian Byrn and Clarence Thomas were unable to attend.

Others present: Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director and Jane A. Garoutte, Business Manager.

Staff present:  Erin Brousseau, Human Resource Generalist; Sue Eller, Cleveland Branch Supervisor; Kevin Kilmer, Branch Operations Manager; Marianne Kruppa, Circulation Department Head; Maureen Meagher, Pierre Moran Branch Supervisor; Donna Mitschelen, Osolo Branch Manager; Chuck Pieri, Branch YPS Librarian; Trevor Wendzonka, Marketing and Public Relations Manager.

Guest: Judge James W. Rieckhoff (retired, Elkhart Superior Court) and former Elkhart Public Library trustee.



The consent agenda was presented.  There being no objections, Carlos Esteves move

THAT the Consent Agenda be adopted as presented including approval of investments as recommended.

Mary E. Davis seconded                                              Motion: Carried.



EPL Board candidates for recommendation to the County Council

Janice E. Dean reported that she, Renee’ Cocanower, Vice President and Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director reviewed the list of names of individuals who had been suggested or had shown an interest in serving on the Library board.  Interest forms for two individuals were included in board packet.  The Board agreed that both names should be submitted to the Elkhart County Council as recommendation to appoint a replacement for Brian Byrn.   Brian’s second term expires on June 30, 2017.


Board Treasurer Recommendation

Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director recommended that the Board or Trustees’ amend its bylaws to align with Ind. Code § 36-12-2-22.  This would allow the Treasurer position to be filled by an Elkhart Public Library staff member.  She further recommended that the Board elect the Business Manager to this position as of July 1, 2017.  She explained that this will assist EPL in complying with internal controls standards without duplicating efforts, and it is allowed by Indiana law.  Jennifer Nielsen moved

THAT the Board of Trustees of Elkhart Public Library bylaws, Article II. Members of the Library Board Section 6. Compensation be amended to read: “The Treasurer of the Board may be a member of the Board or a paid employee of the Library, per Ind. Code § 36-12-2-22.”

AND THAT Article IV. Officers by amended to read: “The President, Vic-President, and Secretary shall be members of the Library Board.  The Treasurer may be a member of the Library Board or a paid employee of the Library, pursuant to Ind. Code § 36-12-2-22.  The Library Board may fix the compensation of the non-Board (employee) Treasurer.  The Director of the Library is not eligible to be designated as Treasurer.

Carlos Esteves seconded                                                                    Motion: Carried

Appointment of Board Officer Nominating Committee

Janice E. Dean appointed Jennifer Nielsen and Carlos Esteves to nominate a slate of officers for the coming year: July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018.


Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director, presented her report for the month of May.  She reviewed selected statistics for Goshen Public Library and Elkhart Public Library Resource Sharing Consortium.  She explained that items are delivered between Goshen and Elkhart three times per week, and presented graphs depicting the total number of items delivered between Goshen and Elkhart, along with checkouts by location and patron home library.

Banning Criteria

Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director reviewed the Code of Conduct policy and notice, along with criteria used by staff when determining the severity of the offense and the duration of a ban.

Department Report

Sue Eller, Cleveland Branch Supervisor read a poem written by Dunlap staff to honor volunteers.


Job Description Revision recommendation – Organization Wide Expectations

Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director, recommended that the language in EPL job descriptions be revised to include the expectation that all staff address or assist in addressing disruptive patron behavior or situations.     Renee Cocanower moved


THAT the changes to the organization-wide expectations in all job descriptions approved.

Clarence Thomas seconded                                                                Motion carried


Non-Resident Fee Resolution

 Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director proposed that pursuant to IC 36-12-2-25 the individual non-resident card fee be increased from $58.00 to $65.00, and the reduced fee for students and teachers from $25 to $30.00.  Renee’ Cocanower moved

THAT the non-resident fee is hereby set at $65.00 for individual non-resident card;

and $30.00 for a reduced-fee non-resident card for Indiana teachers and students,

effective May 17, 2017,

and that these fees will remain in effect until such time that the Library Board passes a new non-resident fee resolution.

Jennifer Nielsen seconded                                                                  Motion: carried

Fee Schedule Revision

Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director presented a revised fee schedule to reflect the new non-resident fee and addition of a note clarifying processing fees.  Mary E. Davis moved

THAT Fee Schedule be approved as revised.

Carlos Esteves seconded                                                                                Motion: carried

PTO Policy Revision (Paid Medical and Personal Leave Policy

Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director presented the Medical and Personal Leave Policy which will replace the previously named PTO [Paid Time Off] Policy dated January 1, 2017.  Under the leadership of Erin Brousseau, a task force has proposed the second set of revisions to EPL’s PTO Policy.  (The first set of revisions was adopted in December 2016 and effective January 2017.) Task force members are Diana Gill, Lorene Harneck Erica Moore, Laura Holland, Debbie Lynn and Board members Renee’ Cocanower, Mary E. Davis (2016), and Jennifer Nielsen (2017). The Management Advisory Council made six amendments to recommendations of the Task Force.  Those amendments have been incorporated into the proposed revision presented to the Board for consideration.

The policy changes are substantial, as they are aimed at reducing absenteeism at EPL. No action was taken as this was a first reading.

Questions and Information from Board, Staff, and Guests


The meeting was adjourned by Janice E. Dean at 6:35 p.m.


The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees is June 20, 2017, at 5:30 p.m. at the Main Library, 300 S. 2nd Street, Elkhart, IN.

Speak Your Mind


(574) 522-5669