Board Meeting Minutes 2015 05

Print or View as a .pdf

The regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Elkhart Public Library was called to order by Janice E. Dean, President, at 5:30 p.m. in meeting room #1 at the Main Library at 300 S. Second Street, Elkhart, IN.
Members present: Renee’ Cocanower, Mary E. Davis, Janice E. Dean and Shannon Link. Brian Byrn, Jennifer Nielsen and Scott Troeger were unable to attend.
Others present: Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director, and Jane A. Garoutte, Business Manager.
Staff or Guests present: Marsha Eilers, Assistant Director, Public Services; and Allison McLean, Department Head, Young People’s Services.
Change in Order of Business
The order of business was changed to allow the swearing in of a new Board member. Janice E. Dean welcomed Shannon Link, appointed as Library Trustee by the Elkhart Community School Board on May 12, 2015. Ms. Link will fulfill the balance of the four-year term ending June 30, 2016, vacated at the death of Krystal N. Anderson on April 10, 2015.
President Janice E. Dean also appointed Shannon Link to serve as Secretary pro-tem.

There being no objections, Mary E. Davis moved
THAT the Board adopt the Consent Agenda as amended to allow for voting on the 2015 Non-Resident Fee policy change in view of Mary E. Davis’s need to leave the meeting early.
Renee’ Cocanower seconded. Motion: Carried.

Janice E. Dean appointed Brian Byrn and Jennifer Nielsen as Nominating Committee for upcoming election of officers. Officers are elected to serve annually from July 1 through June 30, the following year. The committee will present a slate of officers for election at the June meeting.

Additional Items to Director’s Notes
Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director, announced that the Elkhart County Council had appointed Carlos Esteves as Library Trustee for a four-year term beginning July 1, 2015, and ending June 30, 2019.
The Director reported that the DLGF had released the circuit breaker amounts for 2015, showing a reduction in anticipated property tax income in the amount of $831,225, and stated that this is a smaller decrease in funding than anticipated.
The Director said she will be developing job descriptions for the marketing and fundraising professionals called for in the strategic plan under organizational initiatives.
She reported that the ILF District I Conference in Michigan City was attended by eight staff. Chuck Pieri served on the Conference Planning Committee, and Mary Beth Schlabach and James Facer presented a session on the “Roving Reference” project.
The Director reported that EPL was an official ArtWalk location on May 12, 2015, for the first time ever. She expressed her hope that EPL would remain an integral part of this community event in the future.
The Director also reported that Tina Ervin and Erin Wagner had attended a presentation hosted by Beacon Health where they learned about “The Blue Zones Project,” “a systems approach in which citizens, schools, employers, restaurants, grocery stores and community leaders collaborate on policies and programs that move the community towards better health and well-being.”
She also reported on plans to install automatic sliding entrance doors and already installed fax equipment at Pierre Moran Branch.
Department Report
Allison McLean, Department Head, Young People’s Services, highlighted activities and programs held over the past year, including such offerings as story time, movies and teen programs. She reported that changing the name of “Baby & Me” (previously “Lap-sit”) programs and increasing the frequency from monthly to weekly resulted in increased awareness of and attendance at these programs. New programs this year include Baby Circle Time; Paws to Read; Character Days with book series tie-ins; Lego and Duplo Kits; and Minecraft. During the coming year Young People’s Services will focus on the achievement of goals set in the 2015-2017 Strategic Plan:
1) Help the public view and use the Library as a resource for school readiness,
2) Reach the Hispanic Community, and
3) Make the children’s and young adult areas more inviting as family destinations.

Phase II Renovations
Lisa Guedea Carreño, Director, reported that the Elkhart County Council was supportive of the Elkhart Public Library’s Bond Issue request at their May 9th meeting and gave preliminary approval of the request, scheduling a second reading on June 13, 2015.
The Director also reported that the Elkhart Common (City) Council considered and approved the Library Bond Issue request at their May 18th meeting.
The Director updated the Board on the Bond Issue process and then reviewed highlights of the proposed renovations and estimated timeline should the County Council approval be given in June. Meetings will be held with architect Eric Leedy through mid-June to revisit preliminary plans and to discuss details of the project. If the bond issue is approved by the County Council, Leedy will then complete detailed renovation plans in June and July, and bids will be let by August 17, to be received and opened at the September Board meeting. She reported several large in-house projects will need to be completed after approval, but in advance of construction, which is slated to begin in November 2015. Those projects are asbestos remediation, removal of items from current storage areas to be converted to other uses, planning for staging and temporary work areas for staff during construction.

Non-Resident Fee Policy
The Director presented the Non-Resident Fee Policy revised for 2015, following the release of the 2014 Operating expenditures per capita figures based on the 2014 annual public library report. The new non-resident fee is established at $58.00 effective May 20, 2015. Student and teacher non-resident fees remain at $25.00 per year.
There being no objection Renee Cocanower moved
THAT the Non-Resident Fee be approved as presented.
Shannon Link seconded. Motion: Carried.
Questions and Information from Board, Staff, and Guests

The meeting was adjourned by consensus at 6:25 p.m.
The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Board of Trustees is June 16, 2015, at 5:30 p.m. at the Cleveland Branch Library.

Speak Your Mind


(574) 522-5669