Newbery and Caldecott Winners

    And the winner is…                                

Newbery Award

THE ONE AND ONLY IVAN by Katherine Applegate won the 2013 Newbery Medal for best children’s book of 2012.

Newbery Honor Books:


           Caldecott Award

 THIS IS NOT MY HAT by Jon Klassen won the Caldecott Medal for best illustrations.

     Caldecott  Honor Books:

  • CREEPY CARROTS illustrated by Peter Brown, written by Aaron Reynolds
  • EXTRA YARN illustrated by Jon Klassen, written by Mac Barnett
  • GREEN  illustrated and written by Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • ONE COOL FRIEND illustrated by David Small, written by Toni Buzzeo
  • SLEEP LIKE A TIGER illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Mary Logue

All of these books are available at the Elkhart Public Library.

Speak Your Mind